A brief hiatus from WIF to install SharePoint 2010


As I noted in my last post, eons ago, I found an issue pertaining to the combination of SharePoint 2010 Beta 2 and Windows Identity Foundation RTM.

After several months of nothing but ASP.NET and Identity work, I decided to revisit the installation of SharePoint with the RTW version.

Between the last attempt and this one, I have collectively now had more problems installing SharePoint 2010 than 2003 and 2007 combined.

However, this time the main problem was with Server 2008 and the inability of the SharePoint 2010 Products Preparation Tool to deal with the configuration of the Application Server Role; i.e. IIS 7.0. To remedy this, I upgraded to Server 2008 R2. Take that!

This time the Preparation Tool had no problem doing its intended job.

I normally like to find the root cause of problems like this, but I just didn’t have the time to spare. If you run into a similar issue, and have tried everything to manually remove the Application Server Role, you may want to consider this course of action also. This was a no-brainer for me since I had the R2 bits, but there are a number of other good reasons to install or upgrade to 2008 R2.

About generation12

I am a SharePoint/.NET consultant in the twin cities.
This entry was posted in SharePoint 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

